top of page

City Hopping | FUN TIMES | New Friends - Post 5

Exploring South Korea, first time using the transportation system, and having a great time ;)

sea waves GIF

^ Finding k-pop posters everywhere you go! Here is BTS advertising an alcohol company ^


Kakao Friends Cafe


“Laughing makes everything easier, funnier and happier, especially when you do it with your best friends.” - N.A.

In South Korea, the main way to communicate is through an app called Kakao Talk. You can do everything from phone calls, text, video chat, online shopping, and so much more. It is compatible with all devices and is definitely something you need to download if you plan to be here. For instance, I have a group chat for each of my courses, especially the one with team projects. Overall, it is useful to have everyone on the same platform, whereas iMessage for Apple users might be blue or green bubbles (if you know what I mean).


^ A video of the Hongdae Kakao Friends Shop + Cafe ^


Dongdaemun


Before the semester starts, we decided to explore the city more. We took the subway on Line 2 from Hongik Station to Dongdaemun History & Culture Park. This area is also known as "DPP" since there is an art hall, museum, design market, and other local events that take place here. In essence, the landmark is a popular tourist destination with its uniquely grey-designed buildings that make it stand out.


^ The BUILDING was huge ^


Nam San N Seoul Tower


“Good shoes take you to good places” - Seo Hyun (Boys Over Flowers)


As someone who loves Korean Dramas (k-dramas), it has been my goal to visit Namsan Tower. Many of my favorite scenes were filmed here such as Boys Over Flowers, Hotel Del Luna, True Beauty, etc. My only regret is not putting a lock, but I'll save that task the next time I visit. Altogether, the view from the top of the tower is mesmerizing and captures how big Seoul truly is. O_o


^ Posing at Nam San Tower ^


Itaewon

^ BEST vegan restaurant = Plant Cafe & Kitchen Seoul ^

Hands-down one of the BEST places I've eaten in Korea. Most of my roommates are vegetarians, so I was able to try more plant-based meals thanks to them. I highly recommend the Biryani Garden Bowl Mushroom Burger, Spaghetti & Meatballs, and Tropical Mango Smoothie. *chefs kiss* ʕ•ᴥ•ʔノ♡


Background Information: "PLANT is a 100% plant-based restaurant and bakery located in the heart of Seoul. As one of the fore-running vegan establishments in Seoul, we are passionate about making the plant-based lifestyle more easily adopted in Korea by providing high-quality, accessible vegan meals and baked goods. Our team of staff are wholly dedicated to serving and nurturing our community."



IMG_0231.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm Justina and I will be sharing my study abroad in Korea with you weekly!

Have any questions, comments, or concerns, feel free to let me know~

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page